skip navigation

Kyle Schueller selected to receive Jim Leonhard Award

11/16/2011, 8:00pm CST
By Travis Wilson
Kyle Schueller Edgar football

Wisconsin Sports Network and are proud to announce Edgar's Kyle Schueller as the 2011 recipient of the Jim Leonhard Award as the most outstanding senior defensive back in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

It's hard to find a more complete football player than Schueller, who makes an impact in every area of the game for the Wildcats. From his defensive back spot he totaled 39 tackles during the regular season with 5 interceptions, three of which he returned for touchdowns.

Speaking of touchdowns, he added 4 more on punt returns, 3 on kickoff returns, 33 on rushing scores, and 6 on receptions (those 50 total touchdowns broke the state record for more touchdowns in a single season). Despite limited touches, he rushed for 1241 yards and averaged 11.8 yards per carry while also leading the team in receptions and receiving touchdowns.

The Edgar defense recorded seven shutouts and allowed just 5.9 points per game this season. With Schueller and two other senior captains limited significantly by injury, the team lost a 2010 Division 6 state title game rematch to Saint Mary's Springs in Level 4 to end their unbeaten season.

Schueller was a First Team WFCA All-State selection the organization announced earlier this week.

Finalists for the award were Schueller, Brady Goska of Wisconsin Rapids, Jake Heuer of Beaver Dam, Ben Holcomb of Germantown, and Jerry Nash of Kenosha Bradford.

The award is named after Jim Leonhard, one of the most beloved players from the state of Wisconsin. Hailing from tiny Tony, Wisconsin and attending Flambeau High School, Leonhard was a two-time All-State selection. He walked-on at the University of Wisconsin, and quickly established himself as a leader and outstanding player. He started 39 games in his career, and his 21 career interceptions are tied for the most in Badger history and fourth in the Big Ten. He also broke the Big Ten punt return yardage record. Leonhard went undrafted, but hooked on with the Buffalo Bills before moving to the Baltimore Ravens. In 2009 he signed with the New York Jets.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Nicholas Kartos, WSN President and Founder; Travis Wilson, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, Wisconsin State Journal; Justin Hull, AM 1570 The Score in Appleton; John Casper Jr., Eau Claire Leader-Telegram; Dan Barwick, WSN Associate Content Producer

Tag(s): News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards